Wednesday, August 10, 2011

Is it time for the Washington Redskins to change their name?

I know many will disagree, but it's such a racist name. I'm not even talking about names like "Chiefs" or "Indians". Redskins is super insensitive to the only aboriginal people of this country. We slaughtered them, pushed them onto reservations and now we let the humiliation continue with this name. What if we called Detroit the "Detroit Black Face" or SF the "San Francisco Yellow Men" or the "Seattle Crackers?" Same thing, right? And...does the group getting offended get to decide if it is offensive and racist, or does the dominant white culture get to decide? "Redskins" is so derogatory...isn't it time to change the name? Further, in our nations capitol, isn't it even more important? Or is it telling that our nation's captiol has such a racist name? I'm not anti sports or anything. I love the NBA (Washington Wizards recently changed from the Bullets) and other sports, so I'm not hating on sports. I feel like sports fans really need to stand up and say it's time to change!

No comments:

Post a Comment